Medical Marijuana in Massachusetts

Some Background and History

On November 4, 2008, marijuana was decriminalized in Massachusetts. Voters in the Commonwealth passed The Massachusetts Sensible Marijuana Policy Initiative making the possession of less than one ounce of marijuana a non-criminal offense but allowed for a fine of $100. (Additionally, minors must participate in an approved drug awareness program.) Before decriminalization, individuals charged faced up to six months in jail and a $500 fine. 

Four years later, Massachusetts became the 18th state to allow medical use of marijuana. On November 6, 2012, the Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Initiative (“Question 3”) was sanctioned with 63% of the vote. The law eliminated criminal and civil penalties for the possession and use of up to a 60-day supply of up to 10 ounces of marijuana for Massachusetts residents who possess a state issued registration card, having first received written certification from their doctor for having life debilitating conditions. Qualifying medical conditions include cancer, glaucoma, ALS, Parkinsons, Crohns, Multiple Sclerosis, Hepatitis C, as well as other conditions such as pain, anxiety, depression and PTSD. 

After the law passed, several towns voted to ban dispensaries. Eventually, Attorney General Martha M. Coakley ruled that bans would conflict with the law and that towns could only regulate the dispensaries, not officially forbid them. Some towns responded with zoning restrictions intent on making compliance nearly impossible in an effort to discourage operators.

Visit Central Ave Care, our non-profit Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Dispensary committed to providing the best quality cannabis and cannabis infused products to registered medical marijuana patients.

Gage Cannabis Co. Logo

Join our VIP Club

Join the Gage VIP club and you’ll be the first to know about new products and events! Plus, you’ll have access to limited edition and small-batch products only available to VIP club members.